Twin Pines Polocrosse Club

In 1968 Alan Barnes and Bev Polain left their current club, Northam (formed in 1965) to form the Twin Pines club. The first meeting was held at Twin Pines Riding School, Northam in November 1968.

During the first season the club travelled to zone fixtures playing local teams in the area and gaining valuable experience. Wilf Henderson from the Bruce Rock Polocrosse Club took coaching sessions. Two teams were nominated for the Farrar (Kojonup) Tournament. Both C and D grades won at the tournament, which was the beginning of a long and successful career for Twin Pines. The club grew to 6+ teams, winning trophies through the grades, including the coveted Wandecla A Grade Trophy in 1977 and 1978, state champions in the A Grade and Mixed, plus many state player representations. Muresk and Seabrook clubs were also spawned from Twin Pines.

In March 1971 Twin Pines held the Zone Championships at Bev’s property on Spencers Brook Rd. Carnivals were held there until, in 1973 discussions began about acquiring land and forming Equestrian Park. Working Bees commenced in 1975, water connected and the first carnival held at the grounds. An open front shed was built and in 1978 work began on the ablution block. During these years carnivals were held in November which were hot and dusty. From these early trying days when this area was still used as a rubbish dump it is now a wonderful facility. Many people have passed through the club over the years, with Equestrian Park grounds being testament to the committment from many club members.

The club has always had a deep passion for the sport with many successes along the way. Twin Pines players carry the love and passion for polocrosse of so many before them.

Year the club formed/founded: 1968

Where is the club? Equestrian Park, Northam, Western Australia

Club Colours: Emerald Green & White

Current Club President: Terry Maslin

Current Club Secretary: Beverley Broome

Most Significant Win and Why?

Winning the coveted Wandecla A Grade Trophy in 1977 & 1978. Also state champions in the A Grade and Mixed grades.